Posted by: Chris | January 11, 2010

The BTB List

This weekend I went to a baby shower for a friend who lives in our condo building.  Part of being at a baby shower when you are not pregnant or a parent, is making jokes about all the fun things you’re going to be doing baby-free that the (soon-to-be) parent can never do again.  Well, maybe I’m naive (not being a parent or anything), but I really can’t think of much that I do now in my life that I will not be able to do with children with judicious use of family, friends and baby-sitters.  It may just involve more advanced planning, that’s all.  However, I can think of several things that I will not be able to do while gestating.  So, here is my Before-the-Belly (BTB) list.

1. Drink.  Obvious number 1, I know.  But I truly enjoy a nice drink.  On occasion, I even enjoy several.  However, between medical research and our puritanical culture (seriously, Europeans don’t seem to have an issue with a pregnant lady having a glass of wine with dinner!), drinking is a big ole no-no when it comes to pregnancy.  That’s not to say I won’t have a sip of wine or a shotglass full of beer occasionally, but that’s about it. 

2. Go to the Doubletree in Arlington for dinner.  It’s a revolving restaurant.  Not that pregnant ladies can’t go there (it’s not a rollercoaster ride or anything) but it’s a nice restaurant and when eating at a nice restaurant I want a nice drink (see number 1). 

3. Sushi.  I know there are some cooked sushis, but the good stuff is fresh from the water and just about wriggling before you.  Raw, I understand, is another “Not” on the list (Thanks “Knocked-Up!”  Don’t worry, I also don’t smoke crack or jump on trampolines.)

4. Steak Tartare at a French restaurant.  If you haven’t had steak tartare before, and like steak, you should try this.  At a real French restaurant.  Not to knock Outback or any of its bretheren, but I just don’t get the feeling they’d do it quite right. And it’s one of those dishes you should only have done right.  But, again, raw (not splitting hairs, I know the acids from the lemon juice cooks it a little) so a no-go.

5. Eat mussels.  A few years ago on vacation to Cape Cod I discovered I’m mildly allergic to the little guys (think a watered down version of Will Smith in “Hitch”).  Really a shame, cause they’re really good.  And the allergic reaction nothing that a side chaser of benedryl doesn’t take care of.  But, probably not a good idea to knowingly ingest something you’re allergic to when pregnant.  Your body’s going through enough as it is!

6……

Responses

  1. Outback does steak tartar?

    • Accidentally, I’m sure. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

