Posted by: Chris | July 19, 2010

Periodically

A week or so ago I stumbed across this great mini-series in Slate magazine – Blogging the Periodic Table. 

Sam Kean has a new book out about the history and mystery of the Periodic Table and the elements themselves.  To help give readers a taste (and thus lure them over to Amazon to pick up a copy of the real book) Mr. Kean is blogging about “25 or so” for our free reading enjoyment! 

Now, if you know me, you know I like science, but chemistry and I have a, well, difficult relationship.  Specifically, orgo kicked my butt in college and if it weren’t for biochem, which as it was based in actual biology I got, I would have abandoned the whole elemental mess.  As it turns out, my other likes of history and random facts overpower my dislike of chemistry and I can’t wait to read the latest update of this series every morning.  As a matter of fact, I’m thinking of asking for the book for my birthday.  (Hey, you think I’m strange, you should check out my husband’s reading list of black holes, string theory, and presidental biographies!)

The Disappearing Spoon: And Other True Tales of Madness, Love, and the History of the World from the Periodic Table of the Elements

Responses

  1. You do have some strange tastes – what we’re the two movies you couldn’t decide on – Under the Tuscan Sun and Transformers?

    • Yup, that combination would be representative of my usual taste in movie options 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

